Info about all Beatles' songs and albums

The Beatles 1962-1966 (Red Album)

Listen to “The Beatles 1962 ‐ 1966” full album

Red Album, or 1962-1966, is the Beatles’ compilation album of hit songs spanning the years indicated in the title. The double LP peaked at number 3 in the United Kingdom along with its counterpart 1967–1970 (the “Blue Album”). In the United States, it topped the Cash Box albums chart and reached number 3 on the Billboard Top LPs & Tapes chart. In September 1993, the album was re-released on compact disc, charting at number 3.

The album was conceived by Apple Records manager Allen Klein shortly before he was fired. Despite the group’s success with cover versions, particularly “Twist and Shout“, 1962–1966 contains only Beatles songs. As an entirely Lennon–McCartney album, the album does not include any George Harrison compositions from the era, such as “Taxman“.

It was created by Apple and EMI/Capitol Records in response to a bootleg collection titled Alpha Omega that had been sold on television the previous year. According to print advertisements, these two records are the only Beatles collection authorized by the Beatles.

  • Release date: April 2, 1973
  • Label: Apple Records
  • Genres: Rock, Pop music
  • Length: 62:34

1962 ‐ 1966 (Red Album) tracklist

(October 1962 – May 1964)

  1. Love Me Do
  2. Please Please Me
  3. From Me to You
  4. She Loves You
  5. I Want to Hold Your Hand
  6. All My Loving
  7. Can’t Buy Me Love

(June 1964 – August 1965)

  1. A Hard Day’s Night
  2. And I Love Her
  3. Eight Days a Week
  4. I Feel Fine
  5. Ticket to Ride
  6. Yesterday

(August 1965 – December 1965)

  1. Help!
  2. You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away
  3. We Can Work It Out
  4. Day Tripper
  5. Drive My Car
  6. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)

(December 1965 – August 1966)

  1. Nowhere Man
  2. Michelle
  3. In My Life
  4. Girl
  5. Paperback Writer
  6. Eleanor Rigby
  7. Yellow Submarine