The Beatles' videos with info


  • Published on 1963
  • Author: Gerry Goffin/Carole King
  • Track 4 on “Please Please Me

Info about “Chains”

“Chains” is a rhythm and blues song written by husband-and-wife songwriting team Gerry Goffin and Carole King. It was a hit for the American girl group the Cookies in 1962. King recorded a solo version of “Chains” for her 1980 album Pearls: Songs of Goffin and King.

“Chains” was a much-covered song by Liverpool groups during 1962, and was included in the Beatles’ live sets. They recorded it on 11 February 1963 and it appeared on their first album in the UK, Please Please Me.

It was the first of two songs on the album with lead vocals by George Harrison, and it features the early Beatles trademark harmonica introduction with backing vocal harmonies provided by John Lennon and Paul McCartney.

The Beatles played the song live on a number of BBC radio shows, including “Side By Side”, “Here We Go” and “Pop Go the Beatles”.


  • George Harrison – Lead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
  • John Lennon – Rhythm Guitar, Harmonica Background Vocals
  • Paul McCartney – Bass Guitar, Background Vocals
  • Ringo Starr – Drums

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One thought on ““Chains””